top of page
Writer's pictureStaff Writer

Teacher Spotlight

Updated: Sep 4, 2019

By Matthew Russell


Alice Anne Glasgow

How long have you taught?

I have taught 2 years. This is my 3rd year.

What was your dream job as a child?

As a child, I wanted to be a veterinarian.

If you had a magic wand and could change the school in any way, what would you change?

I would add a Chick-fil-A.


Melanie Calvert

How long have you taught?

I have been teaching art for 10 years.

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I got an electric guitar for my 16th birthday instead of a car.

What was your dream job as a child?

I wanted to be an astronaut or a veterinarian.


Megan Dillard

What is your favorite thing about HHS?

The positive and happy culture is my favorite thing about HHS.

What inspired you to become a teacher?

I wanted to change the world.

How long have you taught?

This is my 9th year.


Haley Chapman

What inspired you to become a teacher?

My teachers from my personal high school experience inspired me to become a teacher.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I might still be teaching and I might have one kid.

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I grew up outside of Tuscaloosa, but I’m the biggest Auburn fan.


Jake Miles

What is your favorite thing about HHS?

The students are my favorite part about HHS.

How long have you taught?

I have taught for 19 years.

What are some things you like to do in your spare time?

I like to hang out with my family go to sporting events.


Michael Hathorn

If you had a magic wand and could change the school in any way, what would you change?

I wouldn’t change anything about HHS.

Were you involved in any sports or activities in school?

I played football, basketball, and baseball in high school. I also played football in college.

What are some things you like to do in your spare time?

I like to spend time with my family.


Elizabeth McFarland

What inspired you to become a teacher?

I’m a 3rd generation teacher! It's the family business.

Were you involved in any activities or sports when you were in school?

I was a part of the marching band and softball team.

How long have you taught?

This is my 1st year teaching.


Jennifer Talbot

What was your dream job as a child?

My dream job as a child was to be an Archaeologist.

Were you involved in any activities or sports in school?

I was in Show Choir and Varsity Cross-Country Skiing.

What's your biggest goal for the school year?

My biggest goal is to complete my work for National Board for Teaching Standards.


Emily Reeves

What made you come to HHS?

I knew HHS was an excellent school.

What inspired you to become a teacher?

I love students and wanted the opportunity to make a difference in their lives. I also loved the ideas of endless summers off!

What is your biggest goal for the school year?

My biggest goal for the school year is to choose joy daily.


Will Lang

If you had a magic wand and could change the school in any way, what would you change?

I would have a mandatory 20 minute nap time after nap.

Were you involved in any activities or sports when you were in school?

I played football, baseball, and basketball during high school.

What was your dream job as a child?

My dream as a child was to be a college football coach.


Mallori Green

What is your favorite thing about HHS?

My favorite part about HHS is the people! Everyone is so devoted to the school and town.

How long have you taught?

I have been teaching for 2 years.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself still teaching history.


John Hardin

What made you want to come to HHS?

My family lives in the area.

What is your favorite thing about HHS?

Everyone is so friendly!

What are some things you like to do in your spare time?

I love fishing, boating, and wake-boarding.


Jeni Lee

What was your dream job as a child?

I wanted to be a broadcast journalist or teacher .

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself still here teaching and watching my son play football on Friday nights.

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I met my husband in a parking lot in Panama City. That was 21 years ago!


Amanda Garner

What made you want to become a teacher?

I love tutoring and helping my friends and others be successful.

If you had a magic wand and could change the school in any way, what would you change?

I do not want to change anything about HHS!

Were you involved in any activities or sports in school?

I played volleyball, softball, and basketball. I was also a cheerleader .


Ally McCaghren

How many years have you taught?

This is my first year teaching.

What inspired you to become a teacher?

I was a Tiger Buddy and a peer tutor at Hartselle when I decided to become a special education teacher.

Tell us an interesting fact about yourself.

I drink coffee ALL DAY!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Conquer High School

Joy and heartbreak. Achievements and failure. Unforgettable moments. These factors make high school four of the most pivotal years a...

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page